Posted by: Dark Defender | January 20, 2009

A small partisan speech

My instant reaction to The One’s speech? It was a campaign speech not a great speech worthy of America’s first minority President.  How many times did he overtly or by implication promise to reverse Bush’s policies? That is campaign rhetoric, not a historic speech. 

Ill admit my view may have been colored by the classless Bush taunting from the crowd and the flood of obnoxious emails in the last few days.  But cmon.

This was not a unifying speech, this was a preaching to the choir.  I got my ass up early to listen to this, and I wish I didn’t.  Does the Messiah not understand that 46 out of 100 Americans didn’t vote for him? Does he not understand the majority of Americans voted for Bush twice (though not me in 2004)?

It just seems very “its my way or the highway, I dont mereley disagree with my political opponents, those who oppose me are evil. ” 

Also “As for our common defense, we reject as false the choice between our safety and our ideals”, does he have any idea who his apparent hero Lincoln really was?

Lincoln suspended habaeus corpus, imprisoned Confederate sympathizers without trial,  started a war without congressional approval and alienated the “international community” by illegally arresting and holding foreign diplomats.

In other words, he acted a lot like Bush.  

Lincoln is a symbol of all that is good, because he was willing to make difficult, ugly decisions for the common good.  I hope, because I happen to care about the country, that The One understands this, pretty speeches and comforting ideals aren’t enough, in the end he will be judged by whether he successfully defends the country or not, to history nothing else matters.

Responses

  1. Congratulations to President Obama and the people of the US of A.

    As a foreigner who wants good things to happen in any and all parts of the world, I wish Americans will work more in harmony with their president. How successful Obama can be as American president will depend on how well his fellow-Americans can rein in their demands for their expectations to be satisfied.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2009/01/20/inauguration-and-high-hopes/

    Keep the hopes alive.

  2. The comparison between Bush and Lincoln is interesting, and perhaps even quite accurate.

    I have to say, even though the output has slackened a bit of late, that this blog is always a pleasure to read. Bravo, DD.

  3. Thanks for the compliment Mr. Viking. I wish I could write more but im currently ramping up to finals and am very distracted by that. I will probably be light on the bogging for the next couple months.

    If your interested in picking up some of the slack, my offer to join the staff is always open. I do keep intending to change the about to make our theme more general and less internationally focused. Not only cause thats been the reality for some time, but also in the hopes of getting some of our other contributors more active.


Leave a Reply

Categories

